Iowa Care Community Board of Directors and Affiliations

Cynthia Schrock, Chair
VP, Branch Manager, MidwestOne

Catherine Pugh, Chair-Elect
Owner/Agent, Urban Acres Real Estate

Randy McDonough, Secretary
Pharmacist, Owner, Towncrest Pharmacy, Solon Towncrest, and Towncrest Compounding Pharmacies

Ben Evans, Treasurer
Group Benefits Advisor, Relion Insurance Solutions

Christine Ameling
Community Representative

Steve Anderson
Attorney, Anderson Houghton Law

Nicole Brogden, PharmD, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Experimental Therapeutics, the University of Iowa – College of Pharmacy

LaTasha DeLoach, LMSW
Coordinator, Senior Center, City of Iowa City

Jeffrey Jarrett
Vice President, F&M Savings Bank

Diana Lundell, Past Chair
Former Director of Communications, UI Health Care

Janice Miller
Faculty , University of Iowa College of Nursing

Michelle Nederhoff
Employee Benefits Specialist, Relion Insurance Solutions

Dr. Minyon Rittgers-Easton
Physician MRE Family Care Clinic

Ben Russell
Realtor, Urban Acres Real Estate

Dr. Stephen Scheckel
CMO, Mercy Hospital Iowa City

Tammy Sebolt
Nurse Manager, UI Health Care


Chief Executive Officer Karla Kamal became the executive director of Iowa City Hospice in 2015. In that role, she led the affiliation of Iowa City Hospice and VNA of Johnson County, and the establishment of Iowa Care Community in 2021. Karla holds a Bachelor of Science in Nursing and a Graduate Certificate in Public Health, and has been a nurse for more than 30 years. She serves on the executive committee of the Board of Directors of the Hospice and Palliative Care Association of Iowa (HPCAI), and is active in the palliative care work group focused on standardizing and promoting a home- and community-based palliative care benefit for Iowa Medicaid.

Chief Operations Officer Sara Krieger, RN, BSN, CHPN, joined Iowa City Hospice in 2005, and oversees all the clinical and direct care aspects of both Iowa City Hospice and VNA of Johnson County. Sara earned a BS in Nursing and certification in Nonprofit Management from Iowa State University, and a Master of Healthcare Administration from the University of Iowa.

Chief Financial Officer Karen DeGroot joined Iowa City Hospice in 2018, after tenure as executive director at a non-profit serving children with behavioral, intellectual, and physical disabilities. Karen has served on multiple boards, including Johnson County Area Women’s Network (JCAWN), Noon Pilot Club, and Noon Kiwanis. She holds a BBA in Finance and an MBA from the University of Iowa.

Chief Marketing and Development Officer Barbara Barrows has 30 years of marketing, fundraising, and management experience, primarily in health care and higher education. Prior to joining Iowa City Hospice in 2018, she was the Manager of Internal Communications for University of Iowa Health Care. She received a BA in English from the University of California, and a Master of Nonprofit Management from Regis University.